Board of County Commissioners

  1. Anthony Bornhorst

    Anthony Bornhorst

    County Commissioner

  1. Julie Ehemann

    Julie Ehemann

    County Commissioner

  1. Robert Guillozet

    Robert Guillozet

    County Commissioner

Welcome to the Office of the Shelby County Commissioners. Our agricultural/industrial county is located in the upper Miami Valley on the Interstate 75 (I-75) corridor in west central Ohio. The county seat of Sidney is a light industrial city surrounded on three sides by residential housing with a wide variety of industry, shopping and restaurants on the far west side. Our beautiful courthouse square in the very heart of the city is surrounded by many historic buildings. Shelby County is noted for a rich agricultural heritage and industrial base and is a welcome place to live, work, and raise a family.

About the County Commissioners

County Commissioners are the general administrative body of the County government and perform duties which are specifically authorized by the state legislature. They are the County government taxing, budgeting, appropriating, and purchasing authority. They hold title to County property. Commissioners' responsibilities also include hearing and ruling on annexations, approving drainage improvements through the petition ditch process, establishing water and sewer district rates as well as making improvements, and providing for solid waste disposal.

County History

Shelby County was established in 1819 with Hardin serving as the first County seat. The name Shelby came from General Isaac Shelby, an officer in the American Revolution who was noted for his bravery and honesty, and was elected Governor of Kentucky. The people of the County chose the name Shelby because many of them were from Kentucky and admired General Shelby a great deal.

The 420 square-mile County is a blend of agriculture and industry giving Shelby County a stable economy. The County is made up of:

  • 14 townships with trustees handling duties in each
  • 8 incorporated villages:
    • Anna
    • Botkins
    • Fort Loramie
    • Kettlersville
    • Lockington
    • Port Jefferson
    • Jackson Center
    • Russia
  • 1 city (Sidney)

The population of the County is 49,423.