About the Shelby County EMA

The Shelby County EMA is organized under ORC 5502.26. All political subdivisions within the county have entered into a written agreement to establish the county-wide agency.

Each political subdivision will select a representative to make up an advisory committee that will:

  • Appoint an executive committee through which the countywide agency will implement emergency management
  • Advise the executive committee on matters pertaining to countywide emergency management

The executive committee must consist of at least the following members: 1 county commissioner, 5 chief executives representing municipalities and townships, and 1 non-elected representative.

The agency is supported by the political subdivisions in the agreement. The executive board appoints a director to establish an emergency management program.

Members of the Executive Board for the Shelby County EMA

  • Bruce Metz, Village of Jackson Center representative, Chair
  • Julie Ehemann, Board of County Commissioners
  • Chuck Axe, Van Buren Township representative, Secretary
  • Tim Bender, Village of Anna representative
  • Randy Bensman, Green Township representative
  • Mark Shappie, Village of Fort Loramie representative
  • Andrew Shaffer, non-elected representative