Soil and Water Conservation District

Home / Soil and Water Conservation District

Soil and Water Conservation District

Our office is here to assist you in any way that we can, if your question is not answered by the information on this website or if you need further information about one the specific areas please do not hesitate to call or stop by our office.

Who Are We?

A legally organized subdivision of the state of Ohio located within the same boundaries as Shelby County, Ohio.
An organization responsible for the promotion of the conservation and development of natural resources within Shelby County with special emphasis on soil and water, and for providing assistance to landowners with the planning and application of conservation practices on their land.
An organization that receives funding from the State of Ohio through the Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Soil & Water Conservation, and from the Shelby County Commissioners.

Our Mission

Providing Leadership, Education, and Technical Assistance In Natural Resource Conservation
To The Citizens of Shelby County.

Our History

The Shelby Soil and Water Conservation District was formed in 1946 by a group of private landowners who were interested in conserving our natural resources. These early conservationists started the district and formed the first board of supervisors.

Staff & Board

The District has continued a tradition of locally led conservation for more than 60 years through its Board of Supervisors and Staff.

Elected Board Supervisors

William Maxson, John Lenhart, Tom Seger, John Geise, Leonard Albers


Jason Bruns, District Administrator
Ryan Evers, Technician
Justin Wagner, NRCS Resource Conservationist
Daniel Francis, Pheasants Forever Farm Bill Biologists
Jim Bennett, NRCS District Conservationist
Sophie Hurley , Education Coordinator
Josh Ward, Technician