Title Department

Home / Clerk of Courts  / Title Department

Title Department

Please note: We do not issue Driver’s Licenses or License Plates in the Title Department. Please contact the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles.

Filing Fees

Original or Replacement Title without Lien (non-Dealer) $15.00
Original or Replacement Title with Lien $15.00
Original or Replacement Title with Lien and Memo $15.00
Duplicate Title $15.00
Memo – only Title $ 5.00

Passport Fees

Passport Book
Regular: 16 years and older
Passport fee (Check required)
– Processing fee * (Cash or Check)
$110.00
$25.00
Child: 0 – 15 years old
Passport fee (Check required)
– Processing fee * (Cash or Check)
$80.00
$25.00
Expedited Service – For Emergency Passports $60.00 Addtl
Passport Card
Regular: 16 years and older (Check required)
– Processing fee * (Cash or Check)
$30.00
$25.00
Child: 0 – 15 years old (Check required)
– Processing fee * (Cash or Check)
$15.00
$25.00

 

* NOTE: If you apply for both the Passport Book and Passport Card at the same time, you will only pay the processing fee one time per application.



Titles

Instructions to get a copy of your Ohio Title if you Moved from Ohio to another state.

Mail a check or money order for $15.00 made out to Shelby County Clerk of Courts to:

Shelby County Clerk of Courts 1000 Milligan Court Suite 101 Sidney, OH 45365.

Complete the BMV 3774 Application for Certificate of Title and have it notarized.

Please include a self-addressed stamped envelope.

Instructions to get your Out of State Title made into an Ohio Title if you Moved from Out of State.

If your vehicle is paid off or you have the Out of State Title.

  • Bring your Out of State Title, the Vehicle you are wishing to title in Ohio, Your Identification, and Proof that Taxes were paid if the vehicle was purchased less than 6 months ago.
  • Start at the BMV next door and tell them you need an Out of State Inspection.  Someone will go out to your vehicle and verify the VIN number on the vehicle.
  • Bring the Out of State Inspection and the Title to the Title Office and we will transfer it to an Ohio Title.  If you purchased the vehicle less than 6 months ago you may have to show proof of sales tax paid.

If you have a loan on your vehicle and the bank is holding your title.        

  • You will need to contact the bank that your loan is with and request a Title.  This can sometimes be done over the phone.
  • In other cases the bank will not release the title to the customer.  In this case you can use the Out of State Lien Title Request.   You can mail or fax the completed form to your bank and they will send the title to our office.  Make sure you put a good phone number on the form.  This is the number we will use to contact you when we receive the title.
  • Once you receive the title or the title is sent to our office you will complete the above steps to acquire an Ohio Title.

Military Conversion

If you are in the military and stationed out of state but your permanent residence is in Ohio you can have the Out of State inspection done by a commanding officer on base or by a member of law enforcement in the state you are stationed in using BMV Form 3787 .  You can also complete a Power of Attorney Form BMV 3771  assigning Power of Attorney to a friend or family member still living in Ohio.  This will allow them to complete the paperwork for you.  This form will not be necessary if you have already completed a Durable Power of Attorney.

The person with power of attorney will be able to bring in the Original Out of State Title, The BMV 3787 Out of State Inspection Form, and their Identification to apply for an Ohio Title in your Name.  If you are stationed out of state and the vehicle will be driven out of state for at least 6 months no sales tax will be due.   If the vehicle will be garaged in Ohio or your orders are for less than 6 months sales tax will be due at the time the title is processed.


Passports

www.travel.state.gov

To complete a passport application online.

Payment to the US Department of State must be made by CHECK or MONEY ORDER.

What you Need to Bring:

  1. COMPLETED FORM DS-11  Application in black ink. DS-11 forms are available in the Title Office or application can be filled our online at Travel.State.Gov
  2. DRIVERS LICENSE OR STATE ID (Permits are not acceptable ID)
  3. CERTIFIED BIRTH CERTIFICATE WITH SEAL ( Birth record with footprints are not acceptable) or PREVIOUS PASSPORT (Need both if applicant was a minor when previous passport was issues or if adult passport was issued more than 15 years ago.)
  4. PASSPORT PICTURES (can be done at Walgreens, CVS, AAA or Walmart)
  5. CHECK OR MONEY ORDER to pay your fee to the US Department of State. You can calculate the fees to apply for a passport at travel.state.gov
  6. PROCESSING FEE: to be paid to the Shelby County Clerk of Courts.   This fee is $25.00 and can be paid by cash, check, or credit/debit card.  If using a credit or debit card a fee of $2.00 will apply.

MINORS

  • Minors under 16 must have both parents present along with minor child. If both parents are unable to come in, the absent parents must fill out FORM DS-3053 and send a photocopy of the front and back of their driver’s license, state ID or valid passport.
  • If there are unusual circumstances that make it impossible to acquire the required information from the absent parent a FORM DS-5525 Statement of Exigent/Special Family Circumstances can be completed.
  • Minors ages 16-17 with a valid driver’s license or state ID can sign on their own, but must be paid with parents signed check to show parental consent. If they do not have any ID or have a permit, a parent will need to be present. A copy of the front and back of the parent’s ID will be sent along with the application.

EXPEDITING

  • If you have travel plans within the next 4 to 6 weeks you can expedite your passport for an additional fee. You can calculate the fees to apply for a passport at travel.state.gov
  • If you are expediting your passport there will be an additional fee of $22.95 TO POSTMASTER (CASH OR CHECK TO POSTMASTER)
  • If you are traveling in 2 weeks or less you may apply in person.  The closest locations to us are Detroit, Michigan and Chicago, Illinois.

ADDITIONAL FORMS

  • If your previous passport was lost or stolen you will need to complete a Form DS64
  • If your name changed and you received your most recent passport less than a year ago, or the information on the passport you just received is incorrect you can have it corrected free of charge using Form DS-5504. You will need to include an original or certified copy of your marriage certificate, divorce decree, or other legal documents supporting the correction you are requesting.  You will also need to submit a new passport photo.
  • If your name changed and your passport was issued more than one year ago you can have it corrected by filling out a FORM DS-82 all regular passport fees apply.  You will need to include an original or certified copy of your marriage certificate, divorce decree, or other legal documents supporting the correction you are requesting.  You will also need to submit a new passport photo.

CHECKING THE STATUS OF YOUR APPLICATION


Watercraft Registration

Website: http://watercraft.ohiodnr.gov/registration

We do not accept checks for boat registrations

If you need to register a canoe, a kayak or any other non-titled watercraft, we will need you to bring a digital picture of the serial number.  You can email the picture to ceverett@shelbycountyclerkofcourts.com.

You will need to be able to complete the Watercraft Registration Application  You can print it out and bring the completed form with you or fill it out in the office.

If you have lost your Watercraft Sticker or Registration you can request replacements by mail using the DNR8456. Or you can contact a watercraft field office.

If you would like to have another person complete your registration you can give them Power of Attorney using the DNR 8464