A Rich Agricultural History


Beautiful Tawawa Park


Lake Loramie State Park


The Historical ‘Big Four Bridge’


Shelby County is located in the heartland of Ohio. Established in 1819, our county is 420 square-miles of agriculture and industry, providing a stable economy. With eight incorporated villages and 14 townships, Shelby County is known for its close-knit communities, solid work ethic and a “together we can” attitude that brings private industry and government together regularly to accomplish any task at hand. Our area boasts the safety and comfort of living in a smaller community, but provides easy access to larger cities and all of their amenities.


Shelby County Building Department gets new location.
Effective Immediately!

The new location is:
City of Sidney Municipal Building
201 W. Poplar Street
2nd Floor Sidney, Ohio 45365
Phone: (937) 658-6220
Fax: (937) 658-6240 Office
Hours: 7:30am to 4:00pm

Public Meeting Schedule For Education of Electricity Aggregation Vote

Shelby Safety Net Fall 2016

Shelby County
Emergency Mass Notification System

Shelby County emergency officials are proud to offer a life-saving capability to county residents and workers with our mass notification system, which is used to alert citizens of public safety threats:

Local emergencies
Weather alerts
Environmental hazards
Criminal activity
Missing persons

For those who sign up, the emergency alert system can provide rapid notification of hazardous and urgent situations using a mix of telephone calls, text and email messages, and TTY/TDD service for the hearing impaired.